The 38th Beijing Marathon was successfully closed and African players won the championship.

Runner news Runner stories

Transferred from China News Service, Beijing, September 16 (Xing Wei) 2018 Beijing Marathon was held today. Ethiopian star Debila won the men’s team championship in 2 hours, 12 minutes and 08 seconds, while Kenyan Ayabe won the women’s team championship in 2 hours, 21 minutes and 38 seconds.

The Beijing Marathon was born in 1981. In 2018, the number of applicants exceeded 110,000 for the first time. More than 30,000 players from 43 countries and regions won the competition. In 2018, the Beijing Marathon won the IAAF Gold Label certification for the tenth consecutive year. It is also the 10th anniversary of the Beijing Olympic Games and the first year of the Beijing Winter Olympics. Therefore, the theme of the event is set to “Go all the way to the North and cheer for the Olympics.”

According to the monitoring data of the meteorological department, on the 16th, the weather in Beijing was cloudy and sunny, with a maximum temperature of 25 degrees Celsius. In the morning, the sky was clouded and the wind was not large, which was conducive to the marathon. At the starting ceremony, a cross-country skiing summer skating event was also held.

At 7:30, 30,000 players departed from Tiananmen Square, west of Chang’an Street, and the end was the Olympic Park Celebration Square. This is the classic route of the Beijing Marathon. It covers the landmarks of Beijing City, such as Tiananmen Square, China Millennium Monument, and Military Museum.

Ethiopian star Debila is the winner of the 2018 Xiamen Marathon. After the start of the day, he quickly became in the first group position. In the first half, he had a fast pace. He surpassed his opponent at 25 kilometers and began to lead. At 30 kilometers, Debila had already opened his opponent and led the team.

However, it seems to be plagued by left leg injuries. Debira’s speed in the second half of the game has dropped. He eventually hit the line in 2 hours, 12 minutes and 08 seconds. Another Ethiopian athlete, Torah, won the runner-up in 2 hours, 14 minutes and 35 seconds. Eritrean Solomon finished third with 2 hours, 14 minutes and 40 seconds. Chinese player Li Zicheng ranked fourth with 2 hours, 15 minutes and 53 seconds, and was also the first player in China.

In the women’s team competition, Kenyan Ayabe won the championship with 2 hours, 21 minutes and 38 seconds, and Bahrain and Ethiopia scored two or three. He cited the fifth place in 2 hours, 31 minutes and 45 seconds, and the first in China.

It is worth mentioning that this year, the Beijing Marathon used the anti-replacement bracelet for the first time. After the player receives the entry package from 13th to 15th and confirms his identity, he will wear a red bracelet and the bracelet will be used as a record and entry voucher until the game is completed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *